Runaway Bunny, why don’t you just sit down and relax?

I’ve always kind of had a problem with the book Runaway Bunny. I just didn’t get it. Like, why is that little bunny always trying to run away? And why didn’t that mother bunny just say, “No, you’re not going anywhere. Sit your rabbit behind down and watch Noggin for maybe 15 minutes so I can read my US Weekly.” That mother rabbit certainly goes to a lot of trouble engaging her son’s creativity/not squashing his dreams.

I was just sitting in Brooks’ room reading him this stupid book, he picked it (PEASE!! BUMMY!! PEASE!!!!) and got a little misty eyed. I think after becoming a parent I finally get what good old Margaret Wise Brown was trying to say. One of the most important things you can show your child is that you will always be there for them, no matter what they do.

*i.e.    You want to throw yourself on the ground because I won’t let you eat an entire container of vitamin gummies? I’m sorry you’re sad, I understand. I’ll be here for you when you come out of your tantrum. OR… You want to wear your rain boots to the beach? Well, it’s not going to hurt you, so I guess I’ll be there to carry you when you realize boots and deep sand don’t mix.

I’m sure lots of people feel this way, but I really feel like I have a “Little Bunny” on my hands. He’s constantly saying, “Bye Bye Momma” and running off, laughing because he really thinks he’s going to get away. Maybe he thinks he’ll go live with his grandparents. Or join the circus for all I know.

My favorite part of the book is the mother’s response to her son when he tells her he’s going to become a bird and fly away from her. “If you become a bird and fly away from me, I will be a tree that you come home to”.

Isn’t that what every “little bunny” needs??

Reminds me of a love so much greater. Psalm 36:5.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Runaway Bunny, why don’t you just sit down and relax?

  1. Aunt Susie

    Very profound Hillary, very profound……….I love it!

Leave a Reply

