But what about all the single ladies???

I’m trying to decide if I feel convicted about my son’s taste in music.

(See earlier blog titled “Starbucks, Sippy Cups and Groovin’ to the Music)

I made a mistake a while back when I thought certain things didn’t matter. Back when he was little and didn’t understand things like words, sentences and especially music lyrics, there was a sense of freedom. It was just too easy to play my music in the car and in the jogging stroller on our runs. Now, I’m paying the price because he expects this. Now, I have a toddler with a taste for Missy Elliott, Black Eyed Peas and the White Stripes. This is not good. Feeling guilty, I tried playing the Wee Sing album I optimistically purchased at Barnes and Noble on one of our recent runs. If I’d been a good mom, I would have done this from the start. But, I didn’t and holy, holy, you would have thought I strapped him down and made him watch paint dry. He showed his great annoyance by throwing things (toys, books, snack traps) out of the stroller while I, meanwhile, wanted to throw the speakers into oncoming traffic. We gave in, pushed “workout mix” on the ipod and he settled in and started bobbing his head while I let Snoop Dogg (edited, of course) motivate me to pick up the pace.

On a more promising note, we have found some great children’s artists that do the trick. I thoroughly recommend Asheba and Randy Kaplan. Some main stream artists have done some pretty great children’s albums, like  BNL’s Snack Time album, Ziggy Marley’s Family Time and Rockabye Baby’s lullaby renditions of classics like Stairway to Heaven and Wish You Were Here.  These have been doing the trick and we’re both pretty cool with them playing during workouts and errands. In fact this is what was playing last Thursday during our weekly playdate with Brook’s 5 and 3 year old friends. Everyone seemed happy until the 5 year old piped up, “Umm, Miss Hillary, do you have All the Single Ladies?”. This sent the 3 year old into, “YEAH, YEAH play all da single yadies!”. Not wanting anyone to be disappointed I all too happily found Beyonce and cranked her up. Huge smiles all around. The second it was over I heard, “Hey! What about all da single yadies?????”.  Again we listened. This time when it was over, “But what about all da single yadies????” to which B chimed in, “PEASE, PEASE” and bobbed his head like he does when he wants me to play music he can dance to. This went on and on sending us into a musical downfall, reminding Brooks and I of all we’d been missing.

So, what’s the verdict? Is it okay to stray from our new “for children only” playlist? What’s the harm in B learning to “put his hands up”, or that if he really likes it, he ought to put a ring on it? Sounds like a good life lesson to me. Whoa, oh oh, whoa oh oh, oh oh oh.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “But what about all the single ladies???

  1. Mom

    What about all da single yadies????? That is an age old question so many young men have asked, how can it be wrong for B to ask that question too?

  2. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://disturbialyrics.net

  3. Melissa

    My son asks for Boom, Boom, Pow!

Leave a Reply

