Wednesday’s Child

 

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.[1]
              Author Unknown

Poor Wednesday’s children. All the other children sound so lovely.                                                                                                                              Allow me to introduce my Wednesday’s Child, born January 23rd, 2008. 

                                          DSCN0663

As you can see, there are times when his birth day suits him. He is tumultuous, laughing hysterically one minute, sobbing the  next. His pediatrician tactfully refers to him as “vibrant” and “robust”. He serves time in the pen (time out)each day and is a smacker. *See below.

                            DSCN1096        

But aren’t most toddlers filled with woe at least part of every single day?  All that I have said comes and goes with the blink of an eye. At time out’s end, he is remorseful (usually), loving and has learned to say “Sorry”. He is full of life, passionate in all that he does and takes life by the horns. He makes friends everywhere we go, shouting “HI!! HI!! to unsuspecting passersby. He knows exactly what he wants and knows how to get it. He loves dogs, water, trucks and carbohydrates. When he is doing what he loves, you have never seen such happiness.  

(Insert happy-faced Brooks here. I haven’t been able to capture “the look” on film, he’s usually so occupied I can’t get him to look at the camera.) I am absolutely enthralled by this tiny, mercurial being. 

I love my son’s wild nature. I can even say that I love his temper tantrums. To me they are a sign that he is confident and bold. What if we were all daring enough to express our feelings so passionately? Yes, I did just say that I love my son’s temper tantrums. Perhaps a better verb would be appreciate. Please remind me of this the next time you see me at the grocery store, flailing child at my feet. 

So, do I think this poem is fair in it’s description of my son’s day of birth? No, I do not. I believe Brooks is filled with equal parts enthusiasm, confidence, stubbornness, silliness, affection and yes, woe. THAT is my Wednesday’s child.

***In other news: James is putting a well in our lovely, pristine backyard. He dug a 20 foot deep hole and did not find water. Awesome.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Wednesday’s Child

  1. Mom

    You have truly missed your calling–you should have been a writer!

  2. Aunt Susie

    May I quote your blog in my classes????? It’s toooo good not to share!!!!!!!!!!!

    • hillarybg

      Oh gosh, if nothing else it’ll make people feel like there’s at least one parent out there who’s struggling more than they are!
      We’ll have to work out some sort of royalty fee…does a couple hundred per reading sound fair to you???

Leave a Reply

